Movie Review: The Lego Movie

Lots of people warned me about the song, so I sort of knew what I was getting into with The Lego Movie.  I was not prepared, though, for multiple kids to be shouting, “Everything is awesome!” at the tops of their little lungs in the parking lot as we all walked back to our cars, and their horrified parents tried to shush them.   It’s really that much of an earworm.  And yes, it is certainly still running through my head as I write this.

Crazy addictive song aside, it was a good movie.  I think I enjoyed it more than my daughter did, because most of the fun one-liners and cultural references sailed right over her head.  As usual, the things in the movie that scared her dumbfounded me.  She sat through a solid ten minutes of heroes-being-chased-by-bad-guys-with-lots-of-shooting with no problem, but freaked out when they discovered a tracking device on the hero, wailing “What’s wrong with him?”

I love that the 1980s space lego guy got to be an important character.  I love anything voiced by Morgan Freeman.  And I love Legos.  So this movie was something I went into expecting to like, at least a little.  The ‘life lessons’ and ‘good triumphing over evil’ portions that are obligatory in an PG-or-less rated movie were presented with a little too much saccharine for my taste, but it definitely could have been worse.   The love story subplot was particularly sickly sweet, but at least had the comic relief of Batman.

This is a very visually stimulating movie, something that always gets bonus points in my book.  The various Lego worlds and the things the master builders put together are, to quote the song, awesome.  The voice actors are great, and you will hear many familiar voices.  The Star Wars actors actually voicing their Star Wars characters (Billy Dee Williams as Lando Calrissian and Anthony Daniels as C3PO) was an especially nice touch.  The standout by far was Liam Neeson as Good Cop/Bad Cop.  Such a great character and really well voiced.

The plot was fairly predictable, but with enough little twists and comedic asides to make it stiff fun to watch.  For the parents who grew up loving and playing with Legos, the movie has a lot of nice nostalgia moments.  This is also a movie I could certainly watch again, which is a lot more than I can say about the last two movies we saw together (The Nut Job and Walking With Dinosaurs).  Overall, PG movies don’t get much better than this.

But seriously, you will never, ever, ever get that song out of your head.  Don’t say no one warned you.

What did you think of it?

1 Comment

Filed under Geeking out, Movie & TV Reviews

One response to “Movie Review: The Lego Movie

  1. I absolutely loved it. I agree that some of the sentimental scenes were overplayed but I thought the humour and plot far outstripped any flaws. A really fun flick!

    Like

What do you think?

